Barcelona

After a 6 hour flight from LAX to Toronto, a 2 hour layover, a delayed departure, and an 8 hour flight from Toronto to Barcelona, Lindsay and I have finally arrived at our first destination. We stepped off of the plane and into a world unknown. We had no knowledge of the language, what bus to take, and what exit to get off of. After walking in circles around Las Ramblas for an hour and a half, we finally arrived at our hostel where we gladly unpacked our luggage and settled into our safe haven. We then went on a search for breakfast where we stumbled upon a petite bakery filled with croissants and pastries of all sorts. I decided upon the chocolate croissant and an espresso shot which was unlike anything my palette has ever encountered. The smooth chocolate and crispy croissant flakes engaged my taste buds like never before.

Later in the afternoon, we began our search of the city walking up and down the streets only to encounter our two friends, Christina and Spencer, from SDSU! We were going into Starbucks with a curiosity of the price inflation when Spencer called out my name. We realized what a small world this is at that point. We then spent the afternoon walking along the streets as a group taking in the glorious architecture, the bountiful fruit stands, and the unlimited supply of street vendors. We dined at a small bar called Bahia with an urban vibe an 1.50€ beers. The day was filled with an experience of the culture, the food, and the exquisite architecture.

Overall, our first day in Barcelona was a true success and I look forward to our second.

About Kellen McAvoy

I’m a craft brew loving, fitness fanatic eating my way through America’s Finest City. On any given day you can find me running (literally) around San Diego as I train for my first FULL MARATHON this October! I’m a 3x Half Marathoner, Bikini Body Guide finisher, and lover of all workouts related to Spinning, Body Pump, Pilates, and more recently Yoga. I am a firm believer and advocate for living a healthy, balanced lifestyle and strive to portray that through my blog.
Image | This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

